### de volksbank

# Press release

Utrecht, 20 April 2017

## Change in the composition of the Supervisory Board of de Volksbank

The Annual General Meeting of Shareholders (AGM) of de Volksbank N.V. (de Volksbank) and de Volksholding B.V. (de Volksholding) was held on 20 April 2017. At the close of this meeting, Jos Nijhuis resigned from the Supervisory Board of de Volksbank and de Volksholding (Supervisory Board).

To ensure continuity and knowledge within the Supervisory Board, it has been decided to spread the terms of (re)appointment more evenly over time. In connection with this, Jos Nijhuis has resigned from the Supervisory Board and Monika Milz has been reappointed to the Supervisory Board in accordance with the enhanced right of recommendation of de Volksbank's Works Council, both with effect from today.

Jos Nijhuis was reappointed to the Supervisory Board on 6 June 2013, as were Charlotte Insinger and Ludo Wijngaarden. In accordance with the resignation schedule of the Supervisory Board, their term of appointment would expire on the date of the first AGM to be held after June 2017. In principle, the new Corporate Governance Code, which came into effect on 1 January 2017, prescribes two terms of appointment. Consequently, these three members of the Supervisory Board are not eligible for reappointment as all three members have already served two terms of office. The reappointment of Jan van Rutte will come up for discussion at the AGM in 2018.

De Volksbank expects to be able to announce who will succeed Jos Nijhuis in the Supervisory Board shortly.

"I would like to thank Jos Nijhuis for his great commitment and dedication as fellow supervisory board member of de Volksbank and its predecessors. He fulfilled the role of supervisor since 2009, and also provided advice and counsel to the Board of Directors on strategy at all times. Moreover, in his role as Chairman of the Audit Committee, he provided expert advice to the board on audit-related topics", says Jan van Rutte, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of de Volksbank.

asntbank



### de volksbank

#### FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

**Corporate Communications** 

Hilbert Bredemeijer hilbert.bredemeijer@devolksbank.nl Mobile phone: +31 (0)6 - 13 88 03 81

Sijmen Veenstra sijmen.veenstra@devolksbank.nl Mobile phone: +31 (0)6 – 30 90 61 19

#### **Investor Relations**

Jacob Bosscha jacob.bosscha@devolksbank.nl Tel: +31 (0)30 - 291 42 46

Kagan Köktas kagan.koktas@devolksbank.nl Tel: +31 (0)30 - 291 42 47

#### ABOUT DE VOLKSBANK N.V.

De Volksbank is a family of banking brands (ASN Bank, BLG Wonen, RegioBank and SNS) with a particular focus on the Dutch retail market, including small and medium-sized enterprises. The four brands each display their own identity and image, and share a single back office and IT organisation. De Volksbank aims to meet the specific financial needs of its brands' customers in a people-oriented, efficient and sustainable way. To this end, its product range consists of three core product groups: payments, mortgages and savings. De Volksbank has a balance sheet total of  $\in$  61.6 billion and 3,354 internal employees (FTEs), making it a major player in the Dutch retail market. The head office is located in Utrecht, the Netherlands.

#### DISCLAIMER

This press release contains only factual information and should not be regarded as an opinion or recommendation concerning the purchase of securities issued by de Volksbank NV. This press release does not contain any value judgement or predictions with respect to the financial performance of de Volksbank NV. If you do not want to receive any press releases from de Volksbank NV, please send an email to <u>communicatie@devolksbank.nl</u>.